Three spiritual turning points

The Rev. Allan Aubrey Boesak shared three turning points in his faith journey at Sunday Vespers in the Hall of Philosophy.

First, he had to learn to read the Bible, not from the missionary’s perspective, but from the perspective of its message of love, peace and compassion. This second turning point was meeting Beyers Naudé, a white South African who joined the anti-apartheid movement.

“I learned that this struggle had to be non-racial,” Boesak said. “I could not hate all white people if there was one white person who could see through the eyes of those who were suffering.”

He also learned through an experience in jail that the struggle had to be interfaith. His last turning point was realizing that the old European confessions could have meaning in his situation.

“The first question is the Heidelberg confession is ‘What is your only comfort in life and death?’ ” Boesak said. “The answer is ‘My only comfort is that in life and death I belong to Jesus Christ who is my Lord and Savior.’ When they put me in jail, threatened my family, when I was afraid and thought I might die, I could cling to this thought. They could never take that anchor away from us.”